uk crack

tweedgv · 8515

Offline tweedgv

on: October 05, 2014, 11:23:41 AM
Hi

I'm a complete newbie, only soldering the odd guitar lead and a few xlrs in the past.  i got a pair of HD650's last year for xmas off the wife, but have been unable to power them with an amp as yet due to low funds…… I've done some research and i can't bring myself to buy anything other than the crack, despite having major concerns about my ability to assemble it.

so firstly, am i right in thinking i need the 240 vac to use this in the UK??

any help with what tools i will need to purchase will be a big help for me…… i have a soldering iron, but think i might invest in a station to have more control over temperature……. i don't want to spend a fortune, so any advice with this, as well as other tools i will need will be gratefully received.

i guess i'm looking for any help at all, and some reinsurance that i'm able to pull this thing off haha.

thanks in advance

gav

Online Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: October 05, 2014, 12:21:56 PM
If you have the forethought to consider your skill level, it is most likely that you are a perfect candidate to build a kit. It means you will be thoughtful during the construction and that, in a nutshell, is the key to success.

You do want a 240V version for the UK.

Check out the Tech Tools forum for tool ideas, lot of info there.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline tweedgv

Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 03:35:03 AM
ok, thanks for the reassurance Doc (not reinsurance)

I'll be sure to order the 240 vac.

I'm currently using the mbox 2 for recording purposes (of which I have tried to attach an image). 

could I use this as a dac alongside the crack?  would I need a dac at all? 

I'm using my MacBook pro as the source, and i'm a little unsure on the routing needed to get the best out of my situation.

thanks again.

gav

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator