Good Wireless DAC?

tdogzthmn · 4322

Offline tdogzthmn

• Industrial Designer
on: January 04, 2013, 04:27:31 PM
I have my computer on the far end of my room which has my speakers.  I't would be nice to be able to stream my music in bit-perfect quality to my S.E.X. amp.  I believe the logitech squeeze box is one option but I'm hoping there might be others to consider.

Offline Bill Chase

Reply #1 on: January 04, 2013, 09:27:34 PM
   I have some experience with a similar setup for my father's.  There are many options, but your ideal solution depends on your other constraints. For instance: which source/amp/speaker components can you co-locate (based on your example, all can't be together), can you string wire (either interconnect or speaker [location of SEX dependent], either in wall or on floor), how much control do you want at one end of the room or the other, and how much $$ is a factor.   
   I'll skip to the end & say my father had me configure an Audioengine D2 wireless DAC (he gave up a Squeeze Box that was giving him trouble).  It solved his unique problem with plug-n-play efficiency, but at a cost could have funded a new music serving computer co-located with his amp/speakers for his non-audiophile tastes.  In his case he specifically didn't want another computer, was willing to pay for not having wires, and wanted the music for more background noise than involved listening. I haven't spent the time around his music collection to fully evaluate sound quality (nor does he have the BH gear to appreciate it), but it moves the bits from a mac mini to his big box store receiver with RCA inputs.