Differences in Resistance values (Newbie question)

Rublyow · 2664

Offline Rublyow

on: January 04, 2012, 09:45:20 AM
Hey everyone,

First off, I am an absolute newbie when it comes to electronics, so apart from a bit of exposure to circuitry in a physics class in college and to soldering up a billion guitar cables in my lifetime, I know next to nothing about circuitry or electronics.  The Quickie is my first DIY project, but so far so good! 

Everything is assembled and soldered, and all of the voltages roughly check out.  The only thing that has me a bit concerned are the resistance readings on terminal strips T1 and T5.  The readings are roughly identical up to about 20K, at which point the reading at T1 is lower than T5 regardless of the position of the volume know.  This difference becomes greater as the volume knob is turned up.  A few readings are:

T1=46.9k, T5=49.3k (knob about half way up)
T1=77.9k, T5=86.7k (knob about 2/3 way up)
T1=93.3k, T5=103.0k (knob at max volume)

Is this something to be concerned about, and if so, what might be causing it?  As I mentioned, all of the other resistance readings check out, as well as the voltages.  Unfortunately I can't hook it up and listen to it yet, as I'm waiting for a set of interconnect cables to arrive in the mail.

Thanks for the help!

Dan

Marantz TT-15s1  / Clearaudio Maestro Cartridge / Bottlehead Eros / Bottlehead Crack / Bottlehead Quickie / Onkyo A-10 Integrated Amp / Paradigm Monitor 7 v3 speakers / Peachtree Audio Era D4 speakers / Fusion Tempest DIY speakers / Sennheiser HD 585

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 10:28:40 AM
The potentiometer is made of a carbon composition track, and carbon composition is rarely a precision material. Inexpensive ones are usually +/-20%, so the max setting should be between 80K and 120K. Your values are well within the spec.