Voltage problem [resolved]

stochastic · 541

Offline stochastic

on: November 26, 2023, 07:13:40 AM
Hi all - finished building my Crack last night.  It passes all resistance checks, and all of the voltage checks EXCEPT terminals 1 and 7 both read 150 volts, and the LED attached to A8 does not glow (A3 is fine).

This is my first time working with tubes - the 6080 seated very nicely and flush, but I had a hard time getting the 12AU7 in very far - see pics.  I pressed firmly and wiggled, but couldn't get it to go in further, not sure if this is normal.

Thanks for the help!

« Last Edit: November 28, 2023, 03:46:18 PM by stochastic »

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: November 26, 2023, 12:42:47 PM
It looks like maybe you accidentally cut one of the UF-4007 diodes in the power supply.  Definitely you will want to fix this ASAP.

Can you carefully measure the DC voltage at A8?

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline stochastic

Reply #2 on: November 26, 2023, 01:00:59 PM
Well I wiggled the 12AU7 and everything works now - LED lit, Terminal 1 voltage is 80, Terminal 7 voltage is 105.  Terminal A8 voltage is 1.6, which (as I understand it) is exactly the bias voltage we want the LED to provide...

So that's great!  Thank you kindly for the prompt response.  Any tips for getting the 12AU7 to seat better in the socket?  I don't want to break anything, but I'm also concerned about the finnicky connection...

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #3 on: November 26, 2023, 01:13:44 PM
If wiggling the 12AU7 brings things into operation, I'd be suspicious of a loose connection in the amp causing these issues rather than the socket itself.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Offline stochastic

Reply #4 on: November 26, 2023, 01:19:01 PM
Copy that - thanks!  I just listened to some music - got some hiss out of the right channel, then it cut out completely after about a minute - I'll double check for loose connections - thanks again!