help/clarification for a new guy [resolved]

squirrelworks · 841

Offline squirrelworks

on: July 07, 2015, 09:11:34 AM
Howdy all!
(Disclaimer: I am completely new to tube amplifiers... This question may have been asked, but my search-fu completely failed me)
So, I have a 1yr old Crack, and I've recently upgraded the tubes to an RCA 6AS7G power tube, and a Raytheon 6FQ7. The power tube warms up just fine, and the stock 12AU7 works as well. The 6FQ7, however, does not.

How does one go about testing a tube? Does this have anything to do with the following on the specs page "with a little care taken to do the proper tube socket wiring for the heater pins", and if so, how do I go about verifying that everything is correct?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 02:30:59 PM by Caucasian Blackplate »

Offline fullheadofnothing

• Global Moderator
  • A noble spirit embiggens the smallest man
Reply #1 on: July 07, 2015, 09:29:08 AM
The 6FQ7 would require rewiring the socket to work.

Joshua Harris

I Write the Manuals That Make The Whole World Sing
Kit Packer Emeritus

Offline galyons

• Geary Lyons
Reply #2 on: July 07, 2015, 09:35:28 AM
The pin out is different for the 6FQ7. Although it is a good replacement, (6SN7 in 9 pin small bottle), you will need to make some simple changes to the heater wires.  The 12AU7 uses a 9A Base and the 6CG7/6FQ7 uses a 9AJ Base. The only difference is the connection of the filament voltage.

In the 9A, (12AU7), base one leg of the heater voltage is connected to the number 4 and 5 pins and the other leg is connected to the number 9 pin. To convert to the 9AJ base, (6FQ7), simply move the 4 and 5 leg to the number 4 pin and move the number nine leg to the number 5 pin.