Low output on Seduction

smithanh · 4096

Offline smithanh

on: May 13, 2012, 04:32:44 PM
I just completed a build on a Seduction with the C4S upgrade, and am not getting the results I had hoped.  First, I'm not getting much output.  I'm running it through a Stereomour and Klipsch LaScalas, and I have to turn the volume up more than halfway to get only modest volume (my wife hasn't said a word!) but when I play a CD, I can hardly turn it up more than 1/4 before it gets too loud!  And I'm getting a bit of quiet white noise from the right channel.  Biggest issue is that overall, it sounds congested.  I had a couple problems with the build, some because of old manual and some because of my incompetence, but it seems that I have everything done pretty much right.  It plays, and no smoke is coming out.

I am NOT an expert on electronics, so any advice or things to check in layman's terms would be welcome!

Andy Smith

Online Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 05:14:22 PM
First thing, halfway on the volume pot is about 20dB lower than all the way - that's 1/100th of the power. Do not be afraid of using the upper half of the volume control! You paid for it, might as well use it...  :^)

(By the way, I assume the voltage checks are OK - no serious problems with the Seduction operating conditions. Just making sure.)

Second - "congested" is a good description of what I hear while gear (mostly capacitors and transformers) is breaking in. If you don't have at least 50 hours on the newest component, try to suspend judgement until you do. I didn't believe in this effect - it makes no technical sense - until I did the experiment of doing the breakin without listening (driving a resistor instead of speakers). I heard exactly the same change that I had heard while listening to the process. And I'm a reasonably hard-headed engineer.