Turntable / Cartridge Advice

Natural Sound · 3006

Offline Natural Sound

on: December 25, 2013, 12:01:40 PM
OK here's the scoop. I've been using a friends turntable for a few years now. But he just moved into a new home and wanted it back. So I'm finding myself in a situation where I'm without a way to listen to my vinyl. I'd say that about 80 percent of my listening is digital these days. So keep that in mind. And I'm a bit short on funds at the moment. I'm setting a budget of $500 - $700 to get started again. I might be able to go a little higher if the "bang for the buck" takes a big step forward. I know thats not much but its what I can afford right now. I thought about going used but I'm a little hesitant due to a couple of bad experience in the past.

So here is what I'm thinking. I have a Dual CS 505-3 and a monster Sansui SR-838 in storage. I'm wondering if either of these are worth putting into service. Either would need a new cartridge. I do have an unused Grado - Gold that could be used in a pinch.

Or I could get into an entry level turntable like a PRO-JECT, REGA or a MUSIC HALL

I'm using a Bottlehead Seduction C4S as my phono stage.

Comments... ideas...?

Offline coca

Reply #1 on: December 25, 2013, 03:26:10 PM
If you consider a Rega or Project, I would say that you are on the right track. Both manufacturers have several models to choose from. I think it is a case of choosing the best you can afford from them. If you have to stretch your budget a bit, then go for it.

Bernie.

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #2 on: December 25, 2013, 03:34:45 PM

So here is what I'm thinking. I have a monster Sansui SR-838 in storage.

I don't think you can better the SR-838 by buying a new turntable in your price range. 
I do think you could get a kickass cartridge for about 1/2-2/3 of your budget if the Sansui doesn't need any repair. 

(SR-838's are $400-1000 used BTW)
« Last Edit: December 25, 2013, 03:52:21 PM by Caucasian Blackplate »