stereomour success

azrockitman · 1958

Offline azrockitman

on: August 01, 2013, 06:28:46 PM
wow, I got discouraged for a while but my stereomour is amp'ing!  Love it.  My 2nd kit now successfully playing. 
Listening to Alicia Keys LP, Songs in A minor.  Sounds great!   ;D ;D

Man, I'm so relieved to get through my issues.  I believe some of the problem was a bad shunt regulator that was replaced readily, but I also discovered some poor solders. 

I'm no expert so take my "soldering tip" with a grain of salt but I believe this strongly:

YOU CAN NOT WIGGLE A GOOD SOLDER LOOSE.  I had a number of solders that I had trouble with during the first construction effort and I would successfully (I believed at the time) finally get a difficult connection soldered, but I was so afraid of it failing, I literally would hold my breath and not touch that solder for fear of wiggling it loose.  Which now I know is nonsense.  You might be able to bend a soldered wire back and forth enough to ultimately bend it it to the breaking point, but a good solder will simply not wiggle free.  So wiggle it, push it, touch it, pull on it...if it's good, you can't disturb it.  I won't ever hold my breath and cross my fingers again on a solder.  It's either good, or not.

Next up, EROS Phono. 
« Last Edit: August 01, 2013, 07:24:10 PM by azrockitman »

Esoteric DV-50, Technics SL1200-M3D, B&K Phono 10 Preamp, Sumiko Blue Point Special Evo III, Bottlehead Stereomour, Orca's

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: August 01, 2013, 06:53:52 PM
Man, this is so spot on that it should be a sticky!

Paul Joppa

Offline Grainger49

Reply #2 on: August 02, 2013, 12:15:49 AM
My guess at wiggly solder joints is that the component lead didn't get enough heat.  The solder didn't bond with it but stuck elsewhere, the PCB pad or the terminal. 

Your point is well taken.  If it moves, it isn't a solder joint, just some solder not joined.

Offline azrockitman