Witch Amplifier To build

microsim · 4613

Offline microsim

• diysmps
on: May 16, 2011, 05:01:47 AM
Hello

I am new to the Tube world! but I would like to build my own Tube amplifier.

I found this forums to be helpful.

How and where and witch, is my questions as I am new to TUBE amplifier.

Witch amplifier is the BEST sounding one, and are they available as kits?

Please I am new, so I will ask alot

Thanks

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: May 16, 2011, 05:38:07 AM
I'll start with some questions -

What do you plan to run with the amp? Headphones? Speakers? Both?

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Grainger49

Reply #2 on: May 16, 2011, 07:52:33 AM
To get to the second questions next:

If speakers, what is the sensitivity, i.e. what is the dBW rating of them?

If headphones, what is the headphone impedance?

Offline Lee Hankins

Reply #3 on: May 16, 2011, 08:15:31 AM
"Which amplifier to build"  As Doc stated the first basic question is what do you plan to run with the amp?  Headphones, speakers, or both? 

"Which amplifier is the BEST sounding one, and are they available as kits?"   Since you are asking this question in the Bottlehead forum I will assume you mean the best sounding Bottlehead power amp, all bottlehead gear come as kits, all bottlehead gear sound wonderful, but each amp or preamp/amp combination can sound different.

What type of music source do you plan on using?

What type of environment do you plan on locating your system?

What type of speaker and or what is the sensitivity of your speakers?  Bottlehead amplifiers normally require 90dB or higher sensitive speakers, but there are always expections.

If you are planning to use headphones, what is the impedance of the headphones.?