HD600 + Crack + HRT Music Streamer II

lior.amsalem · 7774

Offline lior.amsalem

on: October 24, 2011, 10:42:50 AM
Hi all,
New around here and want to build up my headphones system.
I'll start with this: I'm a noob to all audio related stuff.
I own HD600 headphones (hd650 cable) right now connected directly to my mac mini.
I want to upgrade my build.
I'm starting to collect and rerip my CDs and music with better Apple lossless format.
I listening to an extensive variety of music genres: rock, grunge, pop, r&b, chill out, 80's and more.
Anyway, you got the point I don't have a specific genre.

So, what I'm asking here?
1. Will this combination: HD600 + Crack + HRT Music Streamer II will improve my current setup? Will I be able to hear the difference?
2. Will I be able to connect the HRT to the Crack and it will work? Do I need something more? Am I missing something? What is a preamp and do I need one?
3. Do you think I should get the speed ball upgrade right away? or it can wait?

Thanks in advance,
Lior

Offline magnafuzz

Reply #1 on: October 24, 2011, 01:17:28 PM
The Crack was my first venture into the world of headphone amps as well.

I had my headphones plugged into a receiver while i was deciding on which amp to buy. Honestly, at the time, i thought they sounded ok with the receiver, better than my old headphones anyways. The Crack is much, much better and i havent even started upgrading yet. Absolutely no regrets here.

From reading around, the speedball seems to be a really worthwhile upgrade. For myself i plan to stick with the stock build for a while and get used to it first.

I think it sounds really good with the HD650s and you will hear a difference when you make the change.

Andrew T

Seduction
Crack with speedball

Offline Armaegis

Reply #2 on: October 27, 2011, 01:54:00 PM
The Senn + Crack is a wonderful combination, and you should indeed be able to hear a difference. I also thought the Speedball was a worthwhile upgrade.

Offline InfernoSTi