Bottlehead Kits > Moreplay

Using a Moreplay in series with a digital attenuator (DSP)

(1/2) > >>

Hypops:
Hi folks.

I've been wanting to add a tube preamp to my system for a while now, and I've landed on building a Moreplay kit. But I've got a couple questions I hope you all might help me with. While I'm no electrical engineer, I do have some prior kits under my belt.

My current source chain goes from a DIY streamer (pi2AES) to a DSP (miniDSP Flex) to a DAC (Denafrips Ares II) to a class-D integrated (Peachtree Nova150 in power amp mode). I plan to put the Moreplay between the DAC and the amp, obviously.

My questions:

1) I currently use the miniDSP for gain/volume attenuation. Would it make sense to eliminate the volume pot from my Moreplay build rather than futz with gain staging between the two devices? If so, can I just add a resistor in place of the Moreplay's volume pot? Or is it more complicated than that? Would I be better off just keeping the build as is and manually adjusting the gain to taste/need?

2) I've read through most of the Moreplay sub-forum and came across some discussion about using another attenuator in series with the Moreplay. There were recommendations made that went way over my head about modifying the Moreplay build to better accommodate the additional attenuation component. Would this apply in my case? Or should I just "set it and forget it"?

Thanks!

ccmccull:
I also have ability to adjust the signal volume digitally before the moreplay and the moreplay volume. It's no big deal, and the moreplay volume is needed if you connect analog sources later on without a volume, like a turntable and phono preamp. I'd leave it in.