DIY Speakers + Subwoofer and AMP?

kekoukela · 6798

Offline kekoukela

on: May 07, 2015, 09:28:00 PM
Hi all,
I was thinking about building a pair of speakers but would like to have a subwoofer in the mix as well. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Something like this:
http://www.parts-express.com/overnight-sensations-mt-speaker-kit-pair--300-706
and a subwoofer. But I'm a little confused as to how I would hook it up. Each speaker has a positive and negative terminal, does that mean that the negative is the ground and the positive is the sound to the left/right side? and If i were to add a subwoofer into the mix would that mean I would have to hook it up with the speakers or just connect each speaker and the subwoofer to an amp to drive it? Basically I'm looking for a nice home audio sound for music and watching movies

Also, which amp would pair well with this?

Sorry if this is a noob question. Im just starting out :D

Offline Zimmer64

• Blog
Reply #1 on: May 08, 2015, 07:51:12 PM
Here is an idea for a diy sub: http://www.transcendentsound.com/Transcendent/Subwoofer.html

I have built two of them and they are awesome: https://zimmer64.wordpress.com/2015/04/28/bucket-sub/

Michael

Nelson Pass F5 Turbo V2, Quickie (mod), S.E.X. 2.1, Tubes4hifi SP14, Dynaco VTA ST 70, Tubelab SSE, Vroemen Diva Superiore ER4, Jordan JX92S VTL, 47 labs 0647 CD, Aqvox DAC, Rowen Absolute pre / psu / power amps, BG Neo3 / Betsy / Eminence A15 open baffles

Offline Bonzo

• My name is Marco, best known as Bonzo
Reply #2 on: May 08, 2015, 08:21:32 PM
Ciao Michael,
would you mind share your experience, and maybe some construction pics?  ;D
Whit which speacker are you using them?

Bisogna avere orecchio!

Offline Zimmer64

• Blog
Reply #3 on: May 08, 2015, 08:25:12 PM
Ciao Bonzo,

I do not have more pictures of my build. Just follow the first link in my post. There is a full description of all components.

I use them with my current open baffle speakers.

Michael