Recommended solder

Slackman · 3972

Offline Slackman

on: April 07, 2014, 02:09:08 PM
Hello all,

Just joined today because my Crack kit arrived a couple of days ago. I am looking forward to diving into the kit.

My apologies if this has been asked before, but I couldn't find it with a search -- what is the best brand or type of solder to use for the Crack? I have very little experience soldering, so I want to use something that is "easy" and yet will yield a great sounding amp. Thanks in advance for any advice. I'm sure I'll have other questions later.

S

Offline Grainger49

Reply #1 on: April 07, 2014, 02:50:53 PM
Any solder with lead and tin will work well if it has the flux in it.  It should probably say for electronics.

Avoid any solder with copper or silver in it.  Those take too much heat for a noob.

You will probably find a number of solder threads in the Tech Tools folder.  Go there and search for "solder."

Offline mcandmar

• Not all engineers are civil
Reply #2 on: April 07, 2014, 03:07:36 PM
As above 60/40 with flux is what you want, generally described as rosin core solder. Just avoid the lead free solder and you will be fine.

M.McCandless

Offline STURMJ

Reply #3 on: April 07, 2014, 05:06:27 PM
Also, make sure it is not acid flux.  (Someone here had done that) but no electronics solder would have that.

Offline JamieMcC

Reply #4 on: April 07, 2014, 06:31:45 PM
I had good results with the Cardas quad eutectic solder.

Shoot for the moon if you miss you will still be amongst the stars!

Offline mcandmar

• Not all engineers are civil
Reply #5 on: April 07, 2014, 06:52:41 PM
I had good results with the Cardas quad eutectic solder.