Power Switch Specs

mmwwhats · 268

Offline mmwwhats

on: February 12, 2024, 04:59:49 PM
I'm trying to build my Moreplay into a custom chassis and want to use a metal toggle switch as the power switch. I'm new to all this, but am seeing some specs when looking for power switches eg: max current, voltage rating w/ resistive load and want to make sure I'm getting the correct switch to do things safely and durably. Is anyone able to provide the specs I should be looking for when choosing a power switch for Moreplay?

Offline hmbscott

Reply #1 on: February 12, 2024, 06:04:32 PM
I used a SPST Light Duty Toggle Switch from Parts Express, which worked fine. I have used the same switch for a couple other Bottlehead kits with no issues.

https://www.parts-express.com/SPST-Light-Duty-Toggle-Switch-060-542

Scott
[Ortofon 2M Bronze > U-Turn Theory > Eros II] & [iMac via USB > Denafrips Ares 2] >> Moreplay >> Schiit Lokius EQ >> Stereomour II >> Hsu ULS-15 Sub >> homemade DML Speakers
Moreplay 2nd out >> [Crack + Speedball > HD 650]

Offline 2wo

• Test
Reply #2 on: February 12, 2024, 06:05:11 PM
Most toggle switches for AC use are rated for 3--6 amps at 120 V, which is much more than you need. You probably only need about 1 amp but anything 2 amps or better to be safe... John
« Last Edit: February 12, 2024, 06:08:27 PM by 2wo »

John S.

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #3 on: February 12, 2024, 06:46:55 PM
If you're in the US, you are switching 120vAC, but I'd want a 250vAC rating for the safety margin. I personally would want a healthy current rating (5 to 10 amps) for longevity - the inrush current at switch-on is greater than the steady-state current.

DC voltage ratings are much lower, often 24 or 30 volts DC, but the power switch is handling only AC so that is not important.