FPIII Bad Voltage Readings

Frank Breech · 11119

Offline Frank Breech

on: August 29, 2012, 01:08:10 PM
Hi,
I had my newly built FPIII running for a couple of days and was really enjoying it.  I had some noisiness on the right channel. I thought it was in the right SW pot, but then I realized it was whenever the chassis got jostled at all, especially between the SW and the right 12AU7 socket.  Then, I noticed that moving the tube or at least the tube socket on the right channel made this noise much much worse.  In wiggling the tube around, eventually the sound went away.  The LEDs on both 12AU7 sockets do not light up.  So, just re-checked resistances.  All were ok.
Then just re-checked voltages.  The two voltages that are off are Terminal 15 and Terminal 31.  Both should be around 75VDC according to the manual.  They are now both at ZERO. 

Please let me know how to proceed.  I feel like I need two new 2.2uF 250V capacitors.  All help is appreciated as I'm new to this.

Incidentally, I found a bad solder connection at 12AU7 socket terminal 6, which was probably the cause of my original problem.

Thanks in advance

Mike

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: August 29, 2012, 01:34:17 PM
Start by going back and reheating every solder joint, and then trying the voltage check again

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Frank Breech

Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 02:12:44 PM
Ok, will do.  What do those two bad reading terminals have in common? Is there a single joint or series I can rewet and /or check first?
« Last Edit: August 29, 2012, 03:10:41 PM by Frank Breech »

Offline Grainger49

Reply #3 on: August 29, 2012, 03:23:17 PM
Both those terminals are attached to the  right and left Cathode Follower Cathodes.  With zero volts there the CF stage is not working.  Both 12AU7 tube pins 8 should read 22.1k ohms to ground. 

The associated plates are tube pins 6 on the same tubes.  Are those the right voltage?