Paraglow

RPMac · 3526

Offline RPMac

on: December 11, 2014, 05:13:32 AM
I hope this is the right place to ask this, but I would like to try a parafeed version of PJ's  monkey amp that he has on AA.
I mentioned the 4P1L as a driver because of what I have read by Andy Evans who is a professional musician and accomplished amp builder. But I understand that implementing it may be beyond the scope of this project. Same for the 26 Paul mentioned as a driver. I would like to try an all DHT, but will go with what Paul recommends because I'm not a designer. Tubes I have...5670, 6N1P, 12at7

My iron-

MQ PGP 8.1  380-0-380VAC
MQ RGC-6
MQ EXO-03
MQ EXO-036Ni 2K5/8 ohm

Thanks, Robert
« Last Edit: December 14, 2014, 04:33:07 AM by RPMac »

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 05:55:04 AM
What I recommend is (naturally) the design that I published. I won't be supporting it here, and I don't intend to support any particular variations - I don't object to variations but I expect the Asylum SET or DIY forums to provide the support community.

Paul Joppa

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #2 on: December 11, 2014, 09:16:27 AM
If you decide that you want to do some specific design that you have in mind you pretty much have three choices -

learn enough to design it yourself - after all, it's your idea of what would be cool

hire someone who designs things for a living to design it for you. They will change it from what you had in mind to what they think will work.

depend on the kindess of strangers - as PJ suggests, ask for help on AA or DIY Audio. Though if you thought the pro will change your design, hang on to your hat when some of those guys start preaching their religion.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline xcortes

Reply #3 on: December 11, 2014, 10:40:43 AM