Adding VU meter on crack, will it affect sound quality?

ghost_rider · 5005

Offline ghost_rider

Hi everybody,

I am very new to the bottlehead community. I was reading about the crack for a few months now and finally ordered one few days back :D . Recently I found a very exciting new thing, a tube VU meter,aka "magic eye". There are many kits of them available online. I found a cheap one that i like and I was thinking if i could connect it with the crack somehow, 1 for each channels. It would be nice to watch a bar on a tube jump up and down with music ;D

I was planing on connecting "magic eye" PCB's audio in with Cracks headphone output as parallel. but I am concerned if it will affect the sound quality of the crack? I plan on using two 6E1P - EM80 tubes with the PCB VU meter. I am also attaching the picture of the pcb board,I got very little knowledge about the circuits so it doesn't make much sense to me :(

Somebody please help on what is the best way to connect two of these with the crack :(

(https://forum.bottlehead.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi62.tinypic.com%2Fwl4qit.jpg&hash=b4c32856334bd8526e0a88283ade53c60245c02d)

Offline ghost_rider

Reply #1 on: March 12, 2014, 03:19:37 AM
anybody? :(

Offline 2wo

• Test
Reply #2 on: March 12, 2014, 06:01:48 AM
Well, it has a 3.5mm jack. You could run back to the output of the crack. Maybe there is some kind of 'Y' cable you could find or make to connect it and your phones to.

No idea what it will do to the sound...John

John S.

Offline Grainger49

Reply #3 on: March 12, 2014, 06:06:09 AM
The answer depends on the input impedance of the circuit board. If it is something like 100k Ohms it should not affect the sound quality from a loading standpoint. 
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 03:01:50 AM by Grainger49 »

Offline mcandmar

• Not all engineers are civil
Reply #4 on: March 12, 2014, 06:12:32 AM