Crack to Speedball Upgrade: Problems with Hum and No Sound in Right Channel

TontonFlingeur · 3265

Offline TontonFlingeur

Hello,
I'm a newbie to the kit world.
During the Holidays I bought the Crack to drive my HD650s from my MacBookPro via a CEntrance DACPortLX.
Awesome sound, dead quiet, nice tube-y post-coital glow, couldn't want more - except that's where the addiction begins  ;D
After hearing all the great things about Speedball, I took the plunge, got the kit, and just completed the build.
Ugh!
I know I've messed up, but I don't know how to make it right.

The Diagnostics - voltages are way off (I used terminal 12 as ground on all checks):

Terminal / VDC - expected / Actual Voltage / Pass(P):Fail(F)
1 / 75 / 85 / P
2 / 170 / 77 / F
3 / 0 / 0 / P
4 / 170 / 77 / F
5 / 75 / 49 / F
6 / 0 / 0 / P
7 / 100 / 73 / F
8 / 0 / 0 / P
9 / 100 / 46 / F
10 / 0 / 0 / P
11 / 0 / 0 / P
12 / 0 / 0 / P
13 / 170 / 77 / F
14 / 0 / 0 / P
15 / 185 / 127 / F
19 / 0 / 77 / F
20 / 206 / 0 / F
A1 / 75 / 46 / F
A2 / 0 / 0 / P
A3 / 1.56 / 0 / F
A4 / 0 / 0 / P
A5 / 0 / 0 / P
A6 / 75 / 74 / P
A7 / 0 / 0 / P
A8 / 1.56 / 005 / P
A9 / 0 / 0 / P
B1 / 75 / 76 / P
B2 / 170 / 78 / F
B3 / 100 / 73 / F
B4 / 75 / 47 / F
B5 / 170 / 77 / F
B6 / 100 / 45 / F
B7 / 0 / 0 / P
B8 / 0 / 0 / P

User Impressions:
Hum - which never existed before (was always pure black background).
No sound in right channel.
Half of my LEDs are not emitting.

Any help most appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

-TontonFlingeur

Offline Jim R.

• Blind Bottlehead
Hi,

Welcome to the BH forum and the "addiction".

First thing to check is that all the transistors (the litttle can ones) are all in their correct places -- there are two different kinds and they are not interchangeable.  Also make sure all your LEDs are in the correct way.  These are the typical things that cause the problems you are having -- these and bad solder joints, and solder bridges on the pc board and 9 pin tube socket.