No power to Crack

Stanshall · 4258

Offline Stanshall

on: November 10, 2013, 09:12:42 AM
Hi there, noob here. I've just finished my first build and unfortunately get no power to the Crack when I switch it on. I've checked all connections, really took my time with it, and I don't see any mistakes. No power to the LEDs nor tubes. All my resistance checks came out correct.

Besides resoldering every connection, is there a way I could analyse where the issue might be?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: November 10, 2013, 09:25:40 AM
Did you install the fuse?  (It goes in the little clip, not the square tube in the power entry module)

You can measure AC voltage between L and N on the IEC power entry module to be sure you're seeing line voltage.

-PB

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Stanshall

Reply #2 on: November 10, 2013, 09:31:17 AM
Thanks, Paul.

The fuse is definitely installed correctly.

To measure line voltage, do you mean connect it to the mains and measure on the reverse of the IEC power entry module?

I am using a 240v transformer, by the way. I wonder whether there's anything different I needed to do with my wiring?

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #3 on: November 10, 2013, 09:35:58 AM
To measure line voltage, do you mean connect it to the mains and measure on the reverse of the IEC power entry module?

Yes.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Offline Stanshall

Reply #4 on: November 10, 2013, 09:56:00 AM
Ok, I got approx 240v from the lower neutral pin and a flickering/not a lot from the upper neutral pin.

Would this suggest that my switch soldering needs redoing, in the first instance?

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #5 on: November 10, 2013, 10:03:47 AM
Ok, I got approx 240v from the lower neutral pin and a flickering/not a lot from the upper neutral pin.