Crack questions

Viktor · 8962

Offline Viktor

Reply #15 on: May 06, 2011, 09:02:05 PM
Thank you! Will definitely do that today. I listened for a very short time and the sound was wonderfull by the way but I didn't wan't to destroy anything so I shut it off.
And I guess the manual is correct
'Remember, we don't learn from doing something right, we learn from our mistakes.'

I'm learning loads from doing this! Is there any good read on the web for how the circuitry itself works? I'm a physics student so I am always interesting of finding out how things work!

Thanks a million

Offline InfernoSTi

• Positive emotions enhance our musical experiences.
Reply #16 on: May 07, 2011, 12:57:45 AM
Congratulations on the build and being down to simple troubleshooting (my first DIY build had me chasing a bad power supply rectifier...you did much better than I did!).  I bet you will enjoy this amp more than you have any other amp: you KNOW how it works from power supply to signal input to signal output.  What a great feeling...enjoy!

John

John Kessel
Hawthorne Audio AMT K2 Reference Speakers
Paramount 300B w/MQ All Nickel Iron,  Mundorf S/G 5.5 uF,  and  Vcap Teflon .1 uF
Auralic Taurus Preamp/Auralic Vega DAC/Auralic Aries Streamer
and lots of room treatments!

Offline Viktor

Reply #17 on: May 07, 2011, 07:22:46 AM
I did as jrebman suggested and just wiggled the tubes back and forth abit, took them out and put them back in and now the sound is gone. I really have a working crack! Sounds wonderfull but as I remember from my Fender guitar amp tubes do need some burn in to sound their best?

Also, thanks for all the helpfull advice, quick replies, and nice atmosphere! Wonderfull resource for help and information :)

Offline dstrimbu

Reply #18 on: May 09, 2011, 02:22:06 PM
Sounds wonderfull but as I remember from my Fender guitar amp tubes do need some burn in to sound their best?

/quote]