Bottlehead Kits > Kaiju Stereo 300B amp

My Kaiju Adventure

(1/2) > >>

Dutch Keith:

Hi there everyone. Let me first briefly introduce myself. I am Keith Marshall, English by birth, and resident of the Netherlands. I have been a professional designer and manufacturer of mainly loudspeakers and latterly solid state phono- and pre-amplifiers for the last 40 years.
Now pretty much retired I have time to spend on indulging in my love for music and tube equipment.
In November last year I built my first Bottlehead, the Kaiju. Before continuing I would like, as so many others have done, to congratulate Bottlehead on the excellence of their construction manuals!

Unfortunately my first impressions were disappointing with, amongst other things, a poor unfocussed sound stage, weak basses and sharp grainy highs. I have a lot of experience in trouble shooting and started, by a process of elimination, to hopefully pinpoint what was going wrong. It was a long process, taking 6 months in all and, just when I was about to give up, the solution came just a week ago.... as a complete surprise!!

So last week I happened to notice that my favorite tube supplier were offering a small batch of NOS RCA 5670’s at a very reasonable price. So I ordered a pair, installed them, switched on and started playing one of my favorite albums.

The Kaiju was totally transformed! After all that time I was finally listening to a very sweet sounding amplifier, with an perfectly natural balance and sound stage, really strong but taut bass and smooth extended highs. Just what the Doc(tor) ordered!

Sadly I have to conclude that one or both of the stock GEC tubes were in some way defect or became defect after the initial turn-on. How is this possible?
Any thoughts on this would be welcome!

In a separate post I will describe some of the updates and modifications I have found to be worthwhile.

Cheers! Keith

johnsonad: