N O O B N E E D S H E L P

lagerfeuer · 5559

Offline lagerfeuer

on: September 14, 2013, 03:48:40 AM
Hello,

I'm a total noob regarding electronics and audio stuff but recently got in touch with a bottlehead rig and I really liked what I heard. So I decided to build my own stereomour 2A3 kit. At this time I'm looking for speakers to go with the rig and would prefer to build them myself like the bottlehead amp itself.

I discovered a promising DIY speaker kit but can't really figure out if they will be working well with a stereomour amp.

The kit I'm talking about is the following: http://diyaudioprojects.com/Speakers/Tang-Band-D4-1-DIY-Horn-Speaker-Kit/
This review made me want to build it: http://www.affordableaudio.org/aa2010-08.pdf (review starts at page 7)
I found a data sheet for the driver: http://diyaudioprojects.com/Speakers/Tang-Band-D4-1-DIY-Horn-Speaker-Kit/W4-1617-Driver-Datasheet.pdf

But I still don't know if they would work well together...
Has somebody heard of this speaker kit before?

Any help is highly appreciated as I really don't know what I'm looking at...

Best,
lagerfeuer.

Offline Natural Sound

Reply #1 on: September 14, 2013, 04:43:07 AM
Welcome lagerfeuer,

That looks like a nice little speaker project. The only potential problem I see is that the sensitivity is a little low @ (1m/1w) 88+/- 2db. It really depends on how loud you listen and what kind of music you listen to. For example, if you listen to loud rock music you might run out of power with this combo. On the other hand if you listen at more moderate levels this speaker kit could sound very nice. Remember you need to break-in new speakers in for a period of time before they reveal their true potential.

Keep us updated on your decision and progress. You are going to love the Stereomour 2A3 kit.

Tom
(Natural Sound) 

Offline lagerfeuer

Reply #2 on: September 14, 2013, 06:17:50 AM
Thank you Tom!