Crack-a-two-a Build Log

L0rdGwyn · 7734

Offline L0rdGwyn

on: March 28, 2018, 03:40:41 AM
I am starting a build log for my recently purchased Crack-a-two-a and TwoQuiet attenuator.  This will be my second Bottlehead build, the first being the Crack + Speedball.  I was really happy with the Crack, loved it actually, so I decided to sell it and upgrade  8) FYI I'm no engineer, just a guy who likes to build stuff and knows how to use a soldering iron.

I'm going to be adding some boutique parts to the build, mostly for aesthetics, including new RCA jacks, tube sockets, isolation feet, and volume knobs.  Going to be about a month until I get my hands on the kit, so everything will be planned to a T by the time it arrives.  If it goes as planned, should be pretty sleek!  Also going to add some film output caps after getting used to the stock sound.  Never did this on my original Crack, so curious to see what impact it actually has.  I have a large selection of input and output tubes to roll when it is complete, as well as some Sylvania Gold Brand 6005 shunt tubes to try.

One aesthetic choice I am considering is tube shields for the 6AQ5's.  For the engineering-inclined, will tube shields have any benefit on the shunt tubes besides heat dissipation?  I know they are also used for RF isolation in driver tubes.

Thanks for checking out my build, I will post here as I go along!

Keenan McKnight

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: March 28, 2018, 04:47:49 AM
The 6AQ5s aren't particularly sensitive to noise pickup in this circuit, but there's no harm in shielding them.  Some of the anodized tube shields look pretty cool.

If you're buying different sockets, I'd recommend staying away from the teflon ones.

-PB

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline L0rdGwyn

Reply #2 on: March 28, 2018, 05:12:38 AM