tube socket options

kip.duff · 2817

Offline kip.duff

on: October 21, 2015, 08:46:58 AM
Was thinking of putting in Bakelite/gold plated 4-pin sockets (and possibly driver sockets as well), but realized:
1) the 4-pin sockets might not fit with plate hole and terminal strip configuration (I'll have a better idea tomorrow when my kits arrive and I can measure the stock sockets)
2) possible sonic deterioration because of increased mass/volume of conductor material?  The stock tube socket metal connections are thin-wall/low quantity of metal.  I have seen discussions in interconnect forums about desirability of low conductor mass of RCA connectors (Eichmann Bullet for example).  I don't know if these arguments are valid or relevant at the power tube level.  This may be a wanky discussion- I don't know- I'm not an expert in this area.  In order to keep the kits affordable, the stock sockets are probably inexpensive.  However, that may not mean that the more expensive options are better.

Anyone feel there could be harm by going to some of the fancier sockets?

The connector conductor mass discussion might also go for the speaker binding posts.  I'm going to order Cardas copper short binding posts for my Paramounts- they appear to also have a lot of metal.  The thumb-nut speaker wire connectors on my equipment has always bugged me.  I liked the connectors on my ARC VAT 100- I think they used Cardas as stock equipment.  Used a 1/2" wrench I think.

I hope I like the Paramounts enough to keep them indefinitely- I don't mind spending a little extra time and money.

Dr. Feickert Blackbird II w Reed 2A tonearm and Lyra Skala cartridge.  Eros 2.  Audio Note DAC 2.1 Signature.  BeePre with BeeQuiet and Paramount 1.1 monoblocs into A7 VOTTs or Nagoaka folded horns.

Offline caffeinator

Reply #1 on: October 21, 2015, 11:53:28 AM
Hi there,