Other Gear > Speakers

High SPL on older hardware

(1/3) > >>

Wired:
Greetings,

I have a vanilla Foreplay III and a couple of original 2A3 Stereomours. I'm very happy with the hardware, but have been running speakers with ~89db sensitivity and am looking to step up to something with more SPL. To accomplish this, I have (4) OB-A15Neo woofers from PAP that have 94.6 SPL and have on order a pair of Eminence N314x-8 compression drivers that have 110.5db sensitivity. The speakers will be bi-amped with the Stereomours.

This is my first foray into high SPL horns. The horns are on backorder, so I have no first hand experience as to what to expect from the Foreplay/Stereomour. I'd be happy to hear from anyone in the community that has experience with high SPL/older hardware setups like this and any gotchas I should be aware of.

Gerry E.:

Hi Rick:

I run a custom Pure Audio Project (PAP) system with a pair of BH Paramount amps (see photos below).  I also bi-amp but at a very low crossover frequency using a pair of subwoofer plate amps.  In order to get you moving in the right direction, I/we need answers to these questions:

1.  Is it correct to assume that you are going to run the drivers on an open baffle?  If yes, do you have PAP frames?
2.  What are you going to use for a horn for the Eminence compression drivers?  Eminence has at least two options for 1.4" throat: a line array wave-guide or a exponential horn.
3.  If you have PAP frames, are you going to have PAP custom cut a center baffle board for the wave-guide or horn?
4.  What is crossover frequency?  It looks like 800 - 1200hz would work well.
5.  What are you going to use for a crossover?