Crack question regarding DAC and the Xonar DX

CmdBrewsky · 1708

Offline CmdBrewsky

on: July 10, 2015, 02:51:29 PM
Hi guys,

I just finished building my Crack build, however I thought that I could use my Asus Xonar DX card in my PC as a DAC, however, I guess I thought I could use a 3.5mm stereo male to dual RCA female adapter to get sound of my Xonar DX. But I do not get any sound from my Bottlehead, and now I am unsure whether I made some error with the build or whether I was mistaken that I can use a Xonar DX as a DAC. I believe that the Crack is working fine since the tube starts glowing and heats up, and there are no other problems except the no sound issue and since this is my first build I don't know if there is something wrong with the Crack or just I wrongly assumed that I can use a Xonar DX.

Could use some help finding out what the problem is.

Thanks in advance

Offline kgoss

Reply #1 on: July 10, 2015, 04:11:45 PM
Your sound card will act as a DAC if you connect the analogue output of the card to the Crack. As far as testing goes you could use powered speakers with the sound card to make sure you have it configured properly. To test the amp you could use the headphone output of an iPod, tablet, or phone. Or use an AM/FM tuner or any other analogue source that you know works.

Ken Goss

Offline ALL212

Reply #2 on: July 10, 2015, 04:37:55 PM
Turn the volume all the way down on the crack and make sure the volume on the PC and any software you're using is all the way up.

Then up the crack volume slowly.

Aaron Luebke

Offline CmdBrewsky

Reply #3 on: July 10, 2015, 05:10:49 PM
Ok I will re-check everything in the morning. Currently 5AM in Europe where I live.

So the Xonar DX can be used as a DAC? I should expect it to work with a simple RCA to 3.5mm adapter (I can't link images but its a simple adapter).