Totaly noob who REALLY wants to build

patswalker · 638

Offline patswalker

on: January 31, 2022, 06:39:30 PM
I'm totally new to soldering as in never done it. As of today I've got all the equipment I need to do it and I want to buy a Crack kit to start with. I was looking at the description of the Crack and the Speedball upgrade states that it's not for total beginners, more of a level 2 builder. Looking for experience here, coming from a place of never soldering, is the best move to get the Crack then once I build it and use it a bit, get the Speedball? Or is the Speedball not super hard to install if I do it with the Crack. Again, not super hard for someone who has never done this before. Play conservative to have an easy building experience for the first try to make sure I have a product I can use when I;m done then add the Crack later or go all in and go for level 2 first try?

Offline kGlerup

Reply #1 on: January 31, 2022, 08:47:46 PM
Get both the Crack and SB. But focus on the Crack and take tour time.
Soldering on PCB's is quite different than the hardwiring in the Crack.

Take your time and study (youtube..) before beginning.
Simple tips:
* Adjustable iron? I aim for 440-450 Celcius.
* Always apply a bit of solder to the iron tip. Otherwise you can't transfer the heat
* If you solder something tiny to something thick, then only apply heat to the thick item (The LED's in the kit are easy to kill..)
* Don't apply too much solder. The joint should not look like a bubble/blob.
* Follow the guide to the point! It is really great  :)

Offline Deluk

Reply #2 on: February 01, 2022, 12:35:52 AM
Check out Doc's excellent solder guide along with all of his other build guides.
https://forum.bottlehead.com/index.php?topic=13797.0

Offline oguinn

Reply #3 on: February 01, 2022, 04:25:59 AM
I'd also get a practice kit for PCBs. You should absolutely watch Doc's great videos, but I'd do some hands-on practice with something cheap that you don't mind destroying.