Rebuild and some mods

Bourney · 2727

Offline Bourney

on: August 11, 2023, 08:02:03 PM
I have been enjoying my Mainline for almost two years. I built the SEX first, then Mainline, then Crackatwoa https://forum.bottlehead.com/index.php?topic=14324.msg130465#msg130465, then Crack https://forum.bottlehead.com/index.php?topic=14560.msg132369#msg132369. They're all great kits.

There is an intermittent problem with one channel on my Mainline, no doubt a bad joint or nicked wire. I believe it is something to do with flexing the wires when lowering the C4S board onto the standoffs. I tried reflowing a few joints, but the problem persists.... intermittently.

Time for a rebuild and I'll take the opportunity to simplify to my needs and customise a little.

I am not aiming for sonic uplift and I haven't listened to the original build recently, so I have no hope of comparing the sound of the old and the new.

I have a personal preference for Crackatwoa with my high impedance headphones, so the Mainline rebuild will be low impedance only. I only use a single input, so I'll drop the second. I only use the balanced output, so I'll drop the unbalanced. I use a combo IEC inlet/switch, so out goes the separate on/off switch. I think I've cut around 40 joints from the rebuild.

Also on the wish list:
  • a better way to support the big caps
  • hidden fasteners, undermounted components
  • ability to set the bias from the top side
  • mounts for the C4S and Bias boards - no wire squishing
  • attenuation via a single knob
  • custom end bell

A few 3D printed parts in polycarbonate (for heat handling), a fresh 4mm anodised top plate (allows for some recessing) and some conductive epoxy* later and I'm almost ready to start the wireup, if the weather allows me to paint the transformer parts.