Switchcraft Headphone Jack Question ? [resolved]

Mucker · 975

Offline Mucker

Hi all,

I have been using my Crack with speed-ball since 2015 and can't express how happy I've been with it. Paired with Beyerdynamic DT-1990 Pro it's an absolute dream. I also use a Woo Audio WA2 (also from 2015) which is fantastic but I'll have to say, the Crack holds it own in spades and gets equal or more playtime for me. I am waiting for a sale on the Crackatwoa, money is already in the bank to buy it!

That being said, I have a question on changing the stock jack to a Switchcraft phone jack (152B).

I understand the stock jack is switching, so when the phones are unplugged, the tip, ring, and sleeve are all grounded (if the jack mod has been done on the older units like mine). When the phones are plugged in, the ring and tip grounds are lifted and just the sleeve is grounded. Please correct me if I am wrong.

If a non-switching Switchcraft jack is used, are the ground resistors not used? Do you just wire the red, white, and black in directly and then when using the phones wait to plug them in after turning the amp ON and then unplug them before turning the amp OFF? Thank you.

Greg
« Last Edit: May 21, 2021, 05:18:02 PM by Paul Birkeland »

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: May 21, 2021, 10:39:13 AM
You are correct that the stock jack grounds the tip and ring to the sleeve when nothing is plugged in.  If you do not have the switching function, then the 2.49K resistors are absolutely critical, otherwise the output side of the coupling caps will not be held to 0V potential DC and when you plug your headphones in, you'll get a huge pop and shock and probably a broken pair of headphones.