Where's this extra cap go?

TwoThirteen · 636

Offline TwoThirteen

on: April 18, 2022, 10:27:04 AM
Hey guys,

I'm still a learning builder and I've gotten a used BHC that I'm rebuilding. I'm taking it step by step and very slowly, going to make sure I check every connection, re-solder a few parts, and such. I have the rest of the rebuild planned out but I'm not sure where this bad boy's supposed to connect. It's a WIMA 2.2uf MKS4 250. I bought some replacement (stock) nichicon caps so worse case scenario I'll just pop those on instead.

Is it a common mod to use one small film cap in addition to the 220uf 250v cap on 20u and 21u? (That's how it found its way to me, seems a bit odd, no?)

If any experienced modders would like to chat over discord to help with going over the build that would be really great too. 

https://imgur.com/0GPUcMS
It's only half on at the moment and needs soldered but that's the general position I found it in. What would you guys do in this case?

It does have a choke installed if that matters in this instance.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2022, 10:32:11 AM by TwoThirteen »

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: April 18, 2022, 10:39:26 AM
Clip it out and throw it away.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline TwoThirteen

Reply #2 on: April 18, 2022, 10:45:59 AM
Thank you! Useless stuff installed makes me question the rest of the build, soo this is only going to get more involved. I appreciate the expertise and commitment to helping us newcomers.

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #3 on: April 18, 2022, 10:51:18 AM
You should show the rest of the build.  It's wired for 110V, so definitely check your line voltage when you can.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Offline TwoThirteen

Reply #4 on: April 18, 2022, 04:29:35 PM
The other day I messed around and ordered the wrong Nichicon power caps.

I got these: https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/nichicon/UPW2E221MRD/589769