Stock power cable with a plug adapter for international use? [resolved]

azeendeen · 1310

Offline azeendeen

Greetings to all, before proceeding I would just like to say I'm new to D.I.Y electronics so forgive me if I have made any stupid statements.As the title states I need to know if a plug adapter will work when used with the stock power cable because I live in Singapore and our plug outlet has a standard voltage of 230v and 50 Hz frequency ( I have no idea what frequency means and I took this from another website  :D) . Will a plug adapter + voltage converter work on the given US power cable?
I know on the product page it says that international customers need to use their own power plug but I don't know where to get one so that is why I was thinking if I could use a plug adapter with the US stock power cable.
Thank you to anyone that replied and taking your own time to do so, much appreciated. :)

« Last Edit: March 17, 2019, 05:44:15 AM by Paul Birkeland »

Offline FS

Hi,

I believe that most, if not all of the current BH kits now come with a transformer that can be wired for different input voltages. You would just choose the the wiring option for your case and would be good to go.
You would only need a step-down transformer if you were to buy  from a third party an older kit or built amp with the 120V transformer.
Check the specs on the individual product pages to be sure though. You did not mention the amp that you are interested in getting.
Cheers,
FS

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
I know on the product page it says that international customers need to use their own power plug but I don't know where to get one
The power cord that you need to source will the be the one that fits into just about any desktop computer, lots of monitors, most printers, some televisions with removable cords, etc.

I did a Google search for "Singapore Electronics Supply", then typed in "power cord".