Crack or S.E.X

Clover · 984

Offline Clover

on: July 20, 2021, 09:41:36 AM
I have never had the chance to play with tubes and got interested in building my own simple tube amp as a way to learn and experiment.  I came across Bottlehead pretty quick and am interested in both the Crack and the S.E.X but am not sure which way to go. 

I have a set of HifiMan Sundara's that I was planning on using this for.  However, I also have a set of Zu Audio Omen Dirty Weekend IIs which they list as 97db and I have been wanting to try tubes with them as well.  I have been running them off a Denon AV receiver, which has preouts, so I think I could give tubes a try there as well.  I have been getting more and more into headphones and have been more into plainer headphones and may have some higher power needs in the future.  I'm still getting into all this, so I am not sure where I will go but I do want to play around with some other gear to learn.

Originally I was just looking at the Crack and was thinking of going with the Speedball upgrade.  Then I saw the S.E.X could be used with high sensitivity speakers as well and I got tempted.  If I primarily use this for headphones, would you recommend I just go with the Crack or would the S.E.X just be an improvement on headphones as well? 

Of course I then got drawn to the Sereomour II but don't know that I could really use that with headphones.  Is that just overkill.  Maybe I should focus on headphones now and then build a speaker amp later.  Thanks for the advice.

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: July 20, 2021, 09:46:58 AM
The S.E.X. amp is perfectly suited to what you want to do.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Clover

Reply #2 on: August 12, 2021, 08:59:24 AM