Recording with a smartphone

aragorn723 · 1071

Offline aragorn723

on: December 10, 2021, 02:54:33 PM
I have been battling speed/tonal variation in my turntable for a few months.  Was asked by the manufacturer to make a recording of the sound so they could troubleshoot.  The resulting sound has a lot of variation in volume that definitely makes it sound like the turntable has major issues, but in reality, it's not as bad as the video would suggest.  Is there a technical reason why this volume variation was created in the recording?

Here's a link:

Based on this video they asked me to test the turntable with other amplification (which I did, but again didn't sound that bad).  What am I chasing here?  They have ruled out the main bearings since those spun freely.  My thought is the belt since it is loose, though the mfg says that couldn't cause the issue.  Would like to get a second opinion here, this isn't making sense.

Dave

Offline Deluk

Reply #1 on: December 11, 2021, 02:38:58 AM
That sound was inconclusive to me and I did have to turn the volume to max. The singers tremolo didn't help. A test record with constant tones is needed. Have you got a strobe you can put on the platter to check if it is steady? A slack belt needs changing. Just because the platter spins easily doesn't mean it's rotating smoothly and correctly. The motor maybe faulty. If your TT uses a wall brick for power try another one.

Offline aragorn723

Reply #2 on: December 13, 2021, 12:13:51 PM
Thanks, seems like whenever I email their tech support they run thru the same list of questions.
  Didn't seem like it was going anywhere.  I ordered a new belt, gonna install that first.  IIRC one of the Bottle head guys Doc? posted a free scope download, will have to see if I can find it.