Circuit Changes for E80CC & 5998

Guest · 2797

w0lfd0g

on: October 01, 2013, 06:26:27 PM
Hi there

I would like to make some changes to my Crack to run an E80CC and a 5998 tube optimally.  Can any one tell me what I need to do?  Resistor/LCD replacement?  What values?  How could I work it out for myself?

BTW - The phrase "operating point" is thrown about here quite a bit and I am not sure what it means.  Think it has something to do with minimising distortion by making the tube run its most linear point.  What variables are being plotted against each other to determine linearity? 

I'm sure this is a basic question, but I am new to this territory. 

While I'm at it, could anyone recommend some good books or websites that would explain the design and functioning of tube amps and their components?  I was good at maths in High School, but that's over twenty years ago now (and as a music teacher I'm not called on to use calculus much).  So, simple or well explained references are preferred.

Many thanks!

Nathan

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: October 01, 2013, 07:00:49 PM
Hello Nathan,

The short answer is - just plug them in and listen!

I'll go for the longer answer though ;)

An operating point for a tube is a set of parameters that completely define the operation of the tube.  For a dual triode like the E80CC, it is sufficient to have:

bias (cathode voltage)
current (cathode and plate current are close enough to be identical)
plate voltage
loading resistance
heater voltage (we usually ignore this and assume it's in-spec)

For the 12AU7 in the stock circuit, we have:
bias - 1.57V (LED voltage, the grid is grounded)
current - 3.2mA (will vary a little with the 22K plate loads, or be very well regulated with the speedball)
plate voltage - 75-90V (will vary a little with how potent the 12AU7 is)
loading resistance - 22K stock, 15,000,000 Ohms with the Speedball