Stereomour Question

kellymp · 1692

Offline kellymp

on: November 23, 2016, 08:48:08 AM
I'm a newbie to Bottlehead products, but I'm thinking of taking advantage of the Black Friday offer to set up a rig for my record player.

Thorens Turntable > Reduction > Stereomour > Two Canton speakers

Sorry if this has been discussed before, but the 3.5w per channel advertised on the Stereomour doesn't sound like a lot.  Does anyone else have a similar setup?  If so how is the volume?

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: November 23, 2016, 11:07:32 AM
That depends mostly on the efficiency or sensitivity rating of the speaker, with some effect of room size, preferred music, etc.

Paul Joppa

Offline fullheadofnothing

• Global Moderator
  • A noble spirit embiggens the smallest man
Reply #2 on: November 23, 2016, 01:29:01 PM
Has anything changed since the last time you asked?

Joshua Harris

I Write the Manuals That Make The Whole World Sing
Kit Packer Emeritus

Offline Natural Sound

Reply #3 on: November 23, 2016, 04:03:07 PM
Which Canton model do you have? The specs of the few I looked at show an SPL of only 87 or so. That might be fine in a near field situation but in a large room room it could be challenging to get enough power from a Stereomour.

Offline kellymp

Reply #4 on: November 24, 2016, 04:10:51 AM
Only thing that changed was the size of the room. Moved about 9 months ago and as such  this project got shelved for a bit. Room is 14x14 and speakers are Canton CT800s. Think that is enough gain or would I have to add an additional preamp?

Thanks

Offline Sugar Man

• The Last Honest Lawyer
Reply #5 on: November 24, 2016, 05:00:28 AM