HP filter after DSP and Stereomour?

Kmmm · 1144

Offline Kmmm

on: December 06, 2017, 10:16:12 AM
I'd like to implement a MiniDSP to my system Running my AER BD3 from the Steremour and the bass units from two Hypex UcD400HG
The stereomour using AC filaments does give me a hum. Not much but audible. If i put a HP filter before the stereomour running the full tones from say arround 200-250Hz i will still get the hum Right?
But if I put a cap in parallel on my element (after the Stereomour), say 50uf, would this block out the hum? I might be raving here...I'm new to this...I’m thinking this wild act as a HP filter. This would maybe do some change to phase but I can deal with this on the DSP

Any thoughts on this?

Kaare Mongstad

Offline fullheadofnothing

• Global Moderator
  • A noble spirit embiggens the smallest man
Reply #1 on: December 06, 2017, 11:02:39 AM
If you wire your Stereomour directly to your full ranges without connecting the bass drivers/amps, how much hum is there?

How much hum are you measuring at the binding posts of the Stereomour?

Joshua Harris

I Write the Manuals That Make The Whole World Sing
Kit Packer Emeritus

Offline Paul Joppa

• Global Moderator
Reply #2 on: December 06, 2017, 02:49:14 PM
I assume this is the original Stereomour, not the current Stereomour II? And I am guessing you are in Europe, from your name?

You are correct, a filter before the Stereomour will not affect the hum, which is 100Hz when the power is 50Hz and the filament gets AC power. (In 60Hz countries, residual hum is 120Hz.)

You can create a highpass after the 2A3 by replacing the parafeed capacitor with a smaller one. If the corner frequency is 200Hz, it would attenuate the 100Hz hum by 6dB - audible but not a lot.  However, this will not attenuate the output at the driver resonance frequency where its impedance is much higher than in the midrange.