hakko 936

bgf · 5137

Offline bgf

on: September 21, 2010, 08:13:46 AM
newbie here starting with the basics trying to buy solder kit, hakko 936 was recommended by doc but what tip size small medium or large is appropriate for bottle head projects.  thanks

brent fauss

Offline Grainger49

Reply #1 on: September 21, 2010, 10:40:55 AM
Tips are a personal preference thing.  Most recently PJ pointed out that the pencil (conical) tip is best for circuit boards with leads like transistors.  That is most likely true, especially for novice solderers.  I have been using a small screwdriver (chisel) tip for the last 35 years and a lot of others like those as they get more heat into terminal strips like you wold encounter in building an Eros.  

No one I know likes a large tip as it doesn't fit around components with any accuracy.  I am not even sure that others like medium tips.

They are cheap, why not buy a small pencil and screwdriver tip and change when you are building the boards?
« Last Edit: December 23, 2010, 01:08:09 AM by Grainger49 »

Offline Maxwell_E

Reply #2 on: September 21, 2010, 01:06:15 PM
I have the 936 station with a 907 pencil and I couldn't be happier. The 907 uses medium sized tips. The two I used to build my SEX amp with the C4S boards were the 0.8mm bevel and the 1.6mm chisel. If you were getting one tip, I would highly recommend the 0.8mm as it's small enough to be agile, but large enough to transfer heat effectively.

here's a page with a chart showing dimensions and options for the 907 iron.

http://www.tequipment.net/Hakko900MSeriesTips-Page1.html

Max Tomlinson
SEX amp, Tode guitar amp

Offline bgf

Reply #3 on: September 22, 2010, 05:32:42 AM
thanks for the help watching you tube how to solder videos.

brent fauss

Offline ironbut

Reply #4 on: December 22, 2010, 09:31:01 PM