I'm stuck .....Crack......ideas? (solved)

Mucker · 2343

Offline Mucker

on: February 15, 2015, 03:49:39 PM
I finally found the time to build my Crack. I was having so much fun, I built it in one long day. But, I am having an issue.

The resistance checks were all good, so I moved onto voltages but I have a problem.

The stock 6080 was DOA but luckily I had a couple others from my WA2 that worked. (Confirmed the dead stock tube in the WA2. It had a white top instead of silver so I guessed it was bad before even trying.)

When I put working tubes in and fire it up, the small tube glows fine and the LED's are working. However, the two working 6080's from the WA2 don't glow in the Crack.

I have quadruple checked wiring and re-soldered nearly everything @ 700F ...... even melted my on/off switch but it is still barely working.

I am stuck and don't know where to go at this point. I am a rookie supreme!

It has been alot of fun so far (with a bit of hair pulling), I am ready for the reward :)

Any and all ideas are welcome. Thanks,

Greg
« Last Edit: February 15, 2015, 05:22:14 PM by Mucker »

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: February 15, 2015, 05:05:15 PM
You should probably post some photos so we an have a look at the wiring, particularly around the 6080 socket.  Is the slot in the center hole of the 6080 socket oriented the same as the pictures in the manual?

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Mucker

Reply #2 on: February 15, 2015, 05:21:42 PM
Eureka! and thank you so much Doc B!

My slot was facing to the side. Time to straighten my mess out.

Brilliant kit Doc, this has been a great experience! I pass through Seattle every two weeks, would sure like to visit sometime.

Thanks again!

Greg

Offline Mucker

Reply #3 on: February 15, 2015, 11:48:19 PM
All is very well here.....thanks a ton Doc!

Re-orienting 8 pin socket..........check
Resistance ................. check
Voltage ............. check