constructive criticism on the crack's building process and manual

harari · 1604

Offline harari

• HarariProjects.com
Hi all,

I just received my crack kit a couple of days ago. I built it the same night it arrived, it took me about 4 hours and it's working flawlessly.
I also got the SpeedBall upgrade but I didn't install it yet. I want to try out the stock crack for a couple of weeks before I install it.

I want to share my thoughts of the building process and what I expected to get from it, but first, some background about me:
I'm a communication systems engineering student and this is not my first DIY project. I'm pretty familiar with soldering irons and electronic circuitry, but I haven't messed with analog audio circuits before. Most of my projects include digital circuits and microprocessors.
I play music and I've been into audio for a while now, the evolution of my speaker setup started long ago, but I discovered the magic of headphones a few years back.

A decent headphone setup was a dream of mine and now that I have the resources and time to invest in it, I decided to go for it. I bought a pair of HD650's and a crack with SB (I heard the 650-crack combination a few years ago at a headphones meetup in another forum and decided that when the time will come - this would be the setup I'll buy) and when they arrived I was so excited I dove right in.

Part of the reason I went for the crack is the DIY aspect of it. This would mean I could make it my own, with a different design and upgrade it as I wish to make it truly one of a kind. I figured going DIY would have some added value, I wanted to learn about analog audio amplification circuits and how vacuum tubes work specifically - and what better way is there to learn about something than to fiddle with its components and build it from scratch.

Before I go in, I want to make something clear - THIS AMP IS AWESOME! it sounds great, it looks great, it was super fun to build and i'm incredibly happy with it.