First build, sound problems

Krmikeb · 1465

Offline Krmikeb

on: November 11, 2015, 04:42:39 AM
So, I just finished building my crack.

I plugged my computer into a Modi 2 uber then to the crack.  Hooked up my HD600s and....

SO much interference....and very flat sound and a lot of buzzing, especially in the left ear.  Then.... POP, and it sounds amazing.  A little while later, POP, and its back to bad sound.  And this keeps happening.  Sometimes quickly, other times it will be fine for 10 minutes before back to bad sound.

During the testing process, everything looked good, except when I did a voltage check.  Anything that was supposed to be at 170, consistently was 155. 185 was 175. 90 was 80. 

I am pretty new to this stuff, but I fear I must have done something really wrong to be getting this popping. 

Help?

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #1 on: November 11, 2015, 05:21:36 AM
You probably have a missed or bad solder joint.

Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President For Life
Bottlehead Corp.

Offline Krmikeb

Reply #2 on: November 11, 2015, 01:05:38 PM
So, i have gone back through it and checked every joint and connection.  No cold solders, and everything seems to be connected well.  But, i still get that popping sound....

Offline Doc B.

• Administrator
    • Bottlehead
Reply #3 on: November 11, 2015, 01:22:20 PM