Now We Start The Troubleshooting Phase

faskenite · 1964

Offline faskenite

on: January 25, 2018, 09:15:47 AM
Just finished the Quickie, hooked it up to the system, spun a disc and got (1) loud hum in both channels, (2) apparent very low signal volume in both channels.  I am completely new to this and am not surprised that things have not gone flawlessly.  I'm sure this is not an unusual experience.  I did manage to build it without serious damages to me or it (I think).  Any suggestions or comments?  Could this be a grounding thing fixed with a cheater ac plug for other components? 

Offline fullheadofnothing

• Global Moderator
  • A noble spirit embiggens the smallest man
Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 09:34:20 AM
Does it hum if you connect the Quickie to your amp but NOT the source to your Quickie?

What are the components in the system? Be specific.

Joshua Harris

I Write the Manuals That Make The Whole World Sing
Kit Packer Emeritus

4krow

Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 09:51:43 AM
  As has been stated before about the Quickie, it cannot Produce hum by itself. Since it is DC powered, there is no hum to start with. The idea that a grounding issue is the cause, is a good start to find the problem.

Offline faskenite

Reply #3 on: January 25, 2018, 10:40:54 AM
As to the system, the Quickie is punching way above its weight - 47 Labs CD transport/combo and Manley 300B monoblocks, REL Strata III subwoofer with Lowther EX3 Medallions (there are a whole bunch of vinyl components too but I'm just using the CD front end and the amps for testing the Quickie).  The idea with building the Quickie was to get an intro to DIY, with a view to bigger things in the future.
I'm not at home right now but I will see what happens with the CD front end disconnected and report. 
By the way, it was a lot of fun building this thing!

Offline fullheadofnothing

• Global Moderator
  • A noble spirit embiggens the smallest man
Reply #4 on: January 25, 2018, 11:33:51 AM