Random loud popping [resolved]

Joe Garfield · 682

Offline Joe Garfield

on: September 08, 2020, 01:17:25 AM
I just finished Crack #2. It tested perfectly nominal in resistance and voltage. I started playing music and it sounds great with very quiet background, but there are sudden loud pops. I did a search but post threads about popping also mention hum.

I took the tubes out and they’re working fine in Crack 1.

I’ll check and reflow solder joints but is there any particular area to look at?
« Last Edit: September 09, 2020, 04:39:33 AM by Paul Birkeland »

Joe Marri
Modi MB > Crack > HD650

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: September 08, 2020, 05:01:31 AM
I would reflow all of the solder joints.  Popping is often one that's loose with intermittent connections.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Joe Garfield

Reply #2 on: September 08, 2020, 11:45:13 PM
Thanks Paul. In that case I opted to try the chopstick test and found the problem.

Joe Marri
Modi MB > Crack > HD650

Offline hoy83

Reply #3 on: February 12, 2022, 08:37:26 PM
How did you do the chopsticks thing? you touched the joints while it was operating and found the problem the re-soldered the joint? I'm kind of having some popping sounds too on my crack.. on occasion there would not be but sometimes there's a lot of popping/static. I found that if I wiggled the power plug on the upper right of the chassis the cracking/popping increased..

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #4 on: February 13, 2022, 04:22:55 AM
Plug some cheap headphones into the amp while it's running and poke around with a wooden chopstick to see what you have to poke to get the noise to happen.

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Offline hoy83

Reply #5 on: February 13, 2022, 10:03:33 PM