Transformer Bell and Plate Painting/Cerakote Grounding?

Kevin · 976

Offline Kevin

Hey everyone! I'm new to bottlehead, but I have put in an order for a Mainline and the anticipation is killing me.

I started planning ahead, like how I'm going to stain the wooden base, but am still struggling to determine how I will approach the bell and top plate. I'm leaning towards Cerakote for the bell and top plate (top side only, because I believe the bottom is needed to ground components). I want to do Cerakote because I'm a little paranoid and want to do a pretty much indestructible finish. But I can't help but thinking of crazy ideas of printing stuff on the plate.

I have a few questions to help me plan on painting:
Transformer Bell:
  • When coating, does any of the screw holes need to be left uncoated for grounding purposes?
Top Plate:
  • Cerakote - Has anyone have any experience with this? I don't have a sandblaster and was wondering if sanding would suffice. I have an airbrush that should suffice in applying the coating.
  • Printing - Has anyone ever printed anything on their plate? I found this picture online ((https://eoimages.gsfc.nasa.gov/images/imagerecords/77000/77658/ISS030-E-188071_lrg.jpg)) that I think will look awesome on the top plate with the tubes, making the plate look like some kind of circuit board or a city. IF I can pull this off, I think this would be the way to go... I was thinking if I can get the image somehow on the plate, I can just finish with 2k clear gloss for protection.
Please let me know if you have any feedback! I can't wait to get started. I stayed up until 3 am for the past 3 days thinking of things I could do...

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: October 20, 2018, 07:01:54 AM
It would be a good idea to scrape off some of the finish on the bottom side of the transformer bell and just the smallest amount on the top side around each hole.