Darkvoice 336 Transformer Transplant

SchizoidMan · 2557

Offline SchizoidMan

• Dun Dun-dun-dun Dun Dun
on: May 25, 2019, 04:18:09 PM
Alright so, I got this idea, neat idea (hopefully), after modding my Darkvoice 336 a bit (Hum-Fitz, Better Coupling Caps, Removed the Grid Resistors, 100kohm Pot Replacement, Vishay 25 Watt Resistor Replacement, new Belton Sockets, and soon to replace the 6 bipolar caps with some Mundorfs). Basically I read on a bunch of forums that the heater rails on the Darkvoice are getting excess AC voltage (~7 Volts if your Primary is 120 Volts) and the one solution I've seen is to add a bridge rectifier to the heaters to turn it from AC to DC, knocking it down to ~6.3 Volts (maybe). Basically I've messed with the Darkvoice so much that I've had to rebuild it about 5 times from scratch already, this is my first attempt at soldering and electric stuffs in general using this amp as a test subject (kinda going in hard on this one, 5 shocks in and I finally figured out what a Capacitor does) and I've learned quite a bit working with an amp hands on. Well it was around the 3rd time I opened my amp up to figure out why it was sparking like mad (no clamps to keep the caps fixed, whoops, and yet nothing actually popped thankfully) I kinda went all the way and reached it's transformer. The Transformer is toroidal, designed for a 110 Volt 50 Hz Input (That frequency is my guess as to why the thing is so big, Pic attached for transformer and the wires underneath the PCB) and outputs 135 Volts and 6.3 if it was at 110 Volts (I guess, also makes me think it was made for Taiwan?). So where am I going with this? Well the Darkvoice is cramped compared to other amps, especially actual DIY amps, so the rectifier may not fit and might not even knock it down to exactly 6.3 Volts (I get 120.1 Volts from my home socket), and then I did some research. Well idk how to actually order a custom made transformer, so why not transplant it from a pre-existing transformer wi