New crack build, two different hums/whines [resolved]

carlman14 · 1900

Offline carlman14

Reply #15 on: January 31, 2019, 12:31:57 PM
Not to be too unkind but I'd rate most of your joints as improperly flowed and rather dirty. They should be smooth and with a nice clean appearance. Your iron tip is likely dirty and needs retinning properly. Wind the heat up a bit if it's adjustable or leave the tip on the joint longer. Add additional solder only after the existing solder has steaded to liquify. You may find a flux pen useful. They are very cheap.

Please, bring on the criticism! This is my first time doing this kind of project, so there's no doubt places I can improve!

When I reflowed all the joints last night, the joints did get noticeably cleaner/smoother. The pictures were also taken in poor lighting, and it makes the joints look darker than they really are.

I will definitely go over them with more heat and a clean tip when I do as Paul suggested and touch up the 6 lug strip joints. Thank you for the advice.

Offline carlman14

Reply #16 on: February 04, 2019, 08:10:45 AM
Alrighty... I added some more solder on the 6 lug strips and reflowed everything that looked dirty/not smooth with more heat and a clean tip. Hum is still there. I could be wrong, but it seems like this hum is connected to the 6080 tube. Is is possible that the 6080 is bad? Or is there anything else I can try?

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #17 on: February 04, 2019, 08:22:53 AM
I suppose it's also worth asking what headphones you're using to evaluate this noise.

-PB

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline carlman14

Reply #18 on: February 04, 2019, 08:31:06 AM
Right... that would be important. Sennheiser HD 6XX from massdrop (300 Ohms)

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #19 on: February 04, 2019, 08:32:48 AM