Asking for advices on upgrading the S.E.X 2.1 head-amp

quy lam nguyen · 1177

Offline quy lam nguyen

Asking for advices on upgrading the S.E.X 2.1 head-amp

Recently I want to upgrade my S.E.X 2.1 to have better experiences with the head-amp, but I have no experiences on upgrading one. I tried to read upgrading instructions on the Bottlehead forum and head-fi.

I'm afraid of any mistakes, so I’m seeking for experienced people’s confirmation on whether the following components are eligible for my purposes (in a simple and efficient way) and if those parameters (uF, VAC, VDC, etc.) are correct or not.

I use the headamp primarily for listening to jazz, classical and symphony music. Do you have any advices to upgrade my headamp that works best with my music favours?

(*I apologize if this problem is not encouraged in the forum; please let me know if that violates any rules in the forum)

Thanks for considering and giving advices.

1) TKD Potentiometer 2CP-2511 Stereo 100K Volume Control
2) FT-3 0.1uF 600V Teflon film caps (2 items)
3) 1,5uF MCap Mundorf Supreme Silver Gold Oil Caps 690VAC 1000VDC" (2 items)
(Should I use the 1,5uF MCap Mundorf Supreme Silver/Oil (no gold) Caps 690VAC 1000VDC for my purpose of listening to my favourite music genres?)

LamQuyN

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: June 15, 2019, 06:00:37 AM
The TKD pot should work just fine.

The FT-3 capacitors are going to be be very large and they have metal bodies. I would not recommend these for a SEX kit under any circumstances.

For the Mundorf caps, just buy what makes you happy.

-PB

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Natural Sound

Reply #2 on: June 15, 2019, 10:48:40 AM
I have two suggestions. You didn't mention if you had the C4S upgrade installed in your amp. If you dont, install it before proceeding with any other upgrades.