Eros Shunt Regulator Test issue

bsadowski · 709

Offline bsadowski

on: January 08, 2020, 05:04:44 AM
Hi.  Noob here.  I have a regular Eros Phono with Manual 5.19.09 and having issues with testing the shunt regulator.  I couldn't find anything on the forums that matched my issues.

I am just getting around to building it and have been good up until the shunt regulator testing.

Pg 58 of Eros Manual rev 5.19.09 is where I got my instructions for testing.

During testing of shunt regulator voltage test
D1 test:  (Red lead connected to D1 open red teflon wire, black lead on T23)
1. Only lit up 2 LEDs on B side of board.  The voltmeter did not quickly rise over 300VDC and then settle to 225VDC.  It started at about 75VDC and slowly rose to 223.8VDC over about 15 seconds or so.  A side LEDs never lit up.

D6 test: (Red lead connected to D6 open red teflon wire, black lead on T23)
1. Immediately all 4 LEDs lit up.  After a few seconds the A side LEDs went off.  The Voltmeter started around 70VDC and slowly rose to 310.5VDC and settled there after about 15 sec.  So it never landed at 225VDC.  The B side LEDs stayed lit the entire time.  The voltmeter never rose quickly over 300VDC to start, similar to the D1 test.

I am assuming something is wrong and hoping it's an easy fix?  The manual indicates both sides should be 225V and that all 4 LEDs should be on.  Any help would be appreciated.  This is my first bottlehead kit so I am very new with understanding the jargon that is present here on the forums so please be kind:-). 

Offline Paul Birkeland

• Global Moderator
Reply #1 on: January 08, 2020, 05:20:12 AM
Can you post some photos of your build? 

How long has this kit been sitting around?  Has it been stored in an area with much moisture?

Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline bsadowski

Reply #2 on: January 08, 2020, 02:02:43 PM