90-91 dB sensitivity w/Kaiju?

Ravenshead · 1224

Offline Ravenshead

on: October 18, 2020, 08:27:10 PM
Hi gang,

Brand newbie here, so apologies in advance for my ignorance!

I'm in the planning stages of my first real HiFi system, and I'm very much drawn to the DIY arena and your wonderful community here and elsewhere. I love what I've read of the 300B in general and the Kaiju specifically. I'm thinking that building one will be my first real plunge. In short, my question is... will one be enough??

I've read many posts and articles about speaker sensitivity, which I *barely* understand. For a variety of reasons, the speakers I'm looking at building are Troels Gravesen's "Quattro," which he claims are 90-91dB sensitive. In the meantime, I'm currently using an old pair of Speakerlab S9s that my dad built as a kit some 40-ish years ago. Digging up an old catalog, I found that they are coincidentally listed at 91dB sensitivity. The Kaiju information page mentions speakers w/sensitivity as low as 93dB. So if I'm using a smaller set of monitors in the 91dB range, am I pretty much resigned to needing two Kaijus as monoblocks? FYI I'm also currently using a MJ Pro50 sub. My amp right now is a home theater receiver - a Pioneer Elite VSX-53 (also inherited from my dad  ;)), which I'm thinking I will be using as a pre for the Kaiju(s) until I'm ready to take the next plunge. As far as listening levels, I pretty much never "crank it," and the vast majority of my listening is jazz and classical chamber music.

So I don't know... am I going about this completely upside-down? Any and all recommendations for a n00b would be welcome and appreciated. I was given Robert Harley's "The Complete Guide..." which I've found helpful for identifying my priorities and areas for potential growth. In fact, his somewhat humorous description of the SET phenomenon was part of what drew me here. Do you veterans have any other recommended reading materials?

Thanks, all!

Ben Prima
Lodi, CA