Adding a Moreplay to Stereomour II setup

lskiii · 1968

Offline lskiii

on: September 26, 2020, 07:48:48 AM
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to Bottlehead and I have some questions about the Moreplay... 

As background, a couple of weeks ago I built a Stereomour II.  I thoroughly enjoyed the build process (it was the second time I ever built an amp kit and it came together without any issues).  The audio quality is terrific.  My setup is Bluenode 2i > Schiit MB Bifrost > Stereomour ii to Klipsch Heresy II's (that have Crites upgraded tweeter diaphragms and upgraded x-over).  I installed the DC filament upgrade and built the power cord kit and will be installing the shunt upgrade.  I'm on the fence about doing the volume upgrade.

So, all that out of the way, my questions about the Moreplay:

1. Can someone help me understand what benefit I might expect from adding the Moreplay to my setup?  I only have a single source, so this would only be about adding an additional gain stage.  Any thoughts on that?

2. I've had solid state pre-amp / power amp setups in the past and I controlled the volume exclusively with the pre.  How would that work with a Stereomour / Moreplay combo?  Would I modify the Stereomour to bi-pass the volume controls?  Or, just leave it full out at all times?  Would there be any reason perhaps to instead leave the Moreplay full out and control the volume with the Stereomour?  In past setups when I had a pre and an integrated, I would bypass the pre in the integrated, so I'm not sure how that would work here.