Heater battery connection

cpaul · 2562

Offline cpaul

on: November 09, 2010, 08:16:28 AM
Well now I'm feeling a bit of a dimwit, but the manual that came with my recent quickie shows the negative pole of the D-cell going to tube pins 1,7 and the positive from the power switch to tag strip 1 and then to pin 5.  I wired it as the manual instructed figuring that the manual would have been updated by now.  But when I re-read an earlier post, PJ said to make sure to wire the NEG pole to pin 5, with positive presumably to pins 1,7 in order to maintain the correct operating point.

I think I read more about this in other threads, but can't find them now.  Can someone please clarify for me the correct wiring and what happens when the orientation of the heater wires is backwards?  It's odd to me that the orientation on a floating heater circuit would have any impact, but I've never used DHTs before.

BTW, I'm still impressed by the sound quality of the quickie thus far.

Thanks,
Carl

Offline Grainger49

Reply #1 on: November 09, 2010, 08:23:52 AM
I can't tell you the official orientation.  But can tell you that the answer was just to reverse the battery.

If the heater is not attached to the high voltage, plate voltage anywhere I do not see a difference.  

Offline cpaul

Reply #2 on: November 09, 2010, 02:21:21 PM
Thanks, Grainger.  It isn't attached to the plate voltage, but it IS the same as the cathode, and sets the cathode operating point (since it's directly heated).  If the batteries are backwards, I'd guess that means the cathode voltage is negative, and I would think more negative than the grid, hence you'd get grid current (?) and make a mess of the bias/operating point.  But I really don't understand this situation much and it's hard to wrap my head around it.